Matt Halliday


The 12 lap race was in fact a superb result for Federsand-Jetstream Motorsport as Halliday's team-mate, Richard Westbrook (Great Britain), was the race winner thus proving the two car team will be a major force to be reckoned with throughout the European based Championship. The race was action packed throughout and now sees Halliday in 4th place overall on the points ladder and only four points away from 2nd overall while Federsand-Jetstream are the new points leaders in the Teams Championship.

Saturday's qualifying session was an indicator as to how close the race itself would be with Halliday taking out the 4th spot on the grid, a mere 0.219 secs behind pole sitter Jeroen Bleekemolen (Holland). At one stage it looked as if the Kiwi could claim his first pole of the Series but was bumped onto the second row after loosing a split second in the last sector of his final lap:

"Qualifying 4th with a gap of 0.219 secs on the pole is OK as I'm still learning and not pushing to the absolute limit in the early rounds. Overall it was another good race and an awesome result for the Ferdersand-Jetstream team. We got a good start and hung with Jeroen initially but I think we flat spotted a tyre with a vibration and from there on controlled the pace to come home 3rd” he said at the conclusion of yesterday's race.

The next round of the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup is scheduled to take place at the historic Monaco Formula 1 Grand Prix being held in two weeks time.

Points Standings After Round 3:

1st Jeroen Bleekemolen (Holland) 64; 2nd Patrick Huisman (Holland) 44 ; 3rd Richard Westbrook (Great Britain) 42; 4th Matt Halliday (NZL) 40; 5th Damien Faulkner (Ireland) 34; 6th Stefan Rosina (Slovakia) 32; 7th René Rast (Germany) 24; 8th Richard Williams (Great Britain) 20; 9th Norbert Seidler (Austria) 18; 10th Luigi Ferrara (Italy) 17; 11th William Langhorne (United States) 13; 12th Jiri Janak (Czech Republic) 12;13th Abdulaziz Al Faisal (Saudi Arabia) 10; 14th Siso Cunill (Spain) 8.

Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup Race Schedule:

Round 1: 25 April Sakhir, Bahrain

Round 2: 26 April Sakhir, Bahrain

Round 3: 09-10 May Catalunya, Spain

Round 4: 23-24 May Monaco

Round 5: 06-07 June Istanbul, Turkey

Round 6: 20-21 June Silverstone, Great Britain

Round 7: 11-12 July Nürburgring, Germany

Round 8: 25-26 July Budapest, Hungary

Round 9: 22-23 August Valencia, Europe

Round 10: 29-30 August Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium

Round 11: 12-13 September Monza, Italy